The Case for Faith

In the last couple of days I have been going through a faith overhaul.  I have been reading many articles, watching documentaries and really evaluating the basis for why I believe what I do.  I have found this to be a helpful and intriguing exercise.

I am shocked at the daily barrage of negative messages and ugly news stories that are transmitted through the media in all forms.  If I were to buy in to the headlines, the human spirit is fading in to a memory of yesteryear and today’s version is manipulative and superficial.  If I were an impressionable teen how would I embrace this level of pressure?

It is all very negative and not representative of the world view that I see.  Now mind you, I am of sound mind, get a healthy level of sleep and have had my share of disappointments in life.  However, my glass is typically half full.  I believe in the philosophy of failing forward and making the most of life’s lessons.  I have been reading passages of the bible and have found the flaws amongst God’s most chosen leaders to be far worse than mine and yet these leaders served such an important role in FAITH.

So what about faith?  For me faith is not faith until it is acted upon.  Do I reflect my faith?  Do I go out of my way to put others first?  Do I wake up in the morning focused on how I can help others?  This last thought is a tough one.  How many of us wake up and think about the new aches that emerged overnight or the lack of sleep we got?  Do we really wake up thinking – wow – what can I do to make life better for someone else today?

I realize it sounds like I may be unconscious in this way of thinking but I have never felt more conscious.  That has been a part of my faith journey this week.  I know that in order to establish a new habit I have to do something different for 21 consecutive days and then it will start to weave in to the fiber of my being.  So, I am on a transformation journey.  For the next 21 days I am going to emerge from my slumber and ask myself – what can I do to make life a little better for someone else?

I don’t have the answer to this question…….that’s the beauty of it.

This is an evolving exercise.

It is also the first step in my faith overhaul.  I am excited to see how this one change will manifest in to actions.  I am confident that this will make an impactful change.  Will you join me?

Here is a tip;  a blessing is not a blessing until it is spoken.

For the next 21 days may I am focused on being a living blessing.  Here I come.

Leave a Reply

