For My Grandmother

The subject of saying goodbye has been the hot topic of many movies, songs and books.

There was even a movie called the “Goodbye Girl.” It is something we will all experience in a vast array of settings with audiences of all kinds.
There are goodbyes that will make us laugh.

Some that will leave us silent.

Others may make us sad.

Then there is the one that is final.

This past week I experienced something that is almost indescribable and yet something people go through all the time.
My grandmother died. She was 86 years young and lived 2 states away from me. I hadn’t seen her in 9 years.
Life sometimes gets in the way and before you know it, 9 years have passed.
My grandmother had Alzheimer’s.
She received amazing care, love and respect. I raced 537 miles to say goodbye to my grandmother. The spirit moved me and off I went.

In the end, I made it.
I was able to say goodbye.
I was able to tell her how much I loved her.
I was able to pray next to her bed and feel the warmth of God’s love and reassurance.
I basked in the glow of  her warm memories.
I reminisced with other family members. Our memories were filled with love and scents of all the “good cooking” that went on in my grandmother’s kitchen.

I have always told my children, my grandmother made the best pies

                                                                                                                                        and cobbler

                                                                                                                                                                     and chicken & noodles…the list                                                                                                                      goes on and on.

We sat in my grandmother’s room,  we talked, we laughed and we cried.

Her memories will no doubt live for many generations to come.

And then we said good-bye.

I love you grandma. Peace be with you.

Leave a Reply

