This Is What It’s All About

Last week I spoke to a professional women’s organization about the power of gratitude and what it could mean in their lives; professionally and personally.  Two days after my presentation I was sent a story about the action of one of the participants.  It touched my heart and I wanted to share it with you.  (I am SO glad she shared it with me)

One of the things I stress is that gratitude does not require a grand gesture but rather simple actions are equally meaningful.  A couple of examples I touch upon; holding open a door, helping a person juggling too many things, being kind…the list goes on and on.

One of the women who heard my presentation took the following action.  After picking up her teenager from somewhere they stopped at a fast food restaurant.  On the way out she saw an older gentleman that was holding bags of groceries and he looked very “stressed”.   She asked him if everything was okay.  He explained that it wasn’t because he had been waiting for a taxi for 2.5 hours and was worried he wouldn’t get home to his wife before dark. 
She took him home and helped him put away his groceries.  He had to fight back tears.  

One simple, helpful step made a world of difference to everyone involved.

Isn’t this what life is all about?  Can you imagine what would happen if we all did just one thing?

This is my wish and I hope you will join me.  Have a blessed day….go in gratitude!

PS-if you have a story to share, I would love to hear it.

2 comments on “This Is What It’s All About

  1. One action by a stranger is a very upliftiung thing

  2. My story is this. I did this out of loving kindness, but I did it in secret. I ask for nothing in return. Gratitude is great, but I don’t need it to be kind.

    It was just before the holidays and I was on the sata bus. I heard the bus driver make the comment that the older woman he was picking up to go to mental health facility for an appointment was going to be upset because the facility forgot to send a voucher and she would be required to pay or she couldn’t ride. I got up and gave the bus driver the required funds for her ride. I never told anyone until now and asked the driver to do the same.

    It felt just as good to be kind in secret as it would have had she said thank you.

Leave a Reply

