Tears of Joy

My gratitude has evolved in to tears lately.  I wonder how many other people may be taking the same journey with me this year?

You see, my youngest graduates high school next month and I officially join the club affectionately called the “empty nesters.”  I have found myself reflecting quite a bit lately and the tears have flowed freely.  I look back on major events and not so major events in the lives of my kids and the memories warm my heart. 

You know the ones, the first day of school, the bout of chicken pox over Christmas break, beautiful crayon artwork for the refrigerator and so much more.  As the cliché says; time flies. 

It certainly has flown. 

I have traded the worries of childhood boo-boos for the worries of young adults.  What will the future bring for them as adults?  Have I planted enough seeds of faith in them to sustain them for the challenges ahead?  Isn’t this the mantra of parenthood? 

As we make final plans for graduation I will continue to embrace the memories and remain hopeful in their future.  If you look in the eyes of a graduate you can see the spirit that has made our country great.  The spirit that drives innovation.  The spirit to succeed, make a change and develop a new frontier.

Congratulations to the Class of 2010!

Leave a Reply

