I Do!

I attended a family wedding this weekend and relished in watching a young couple pledge their eternal love.  Isn’t it amazing how powerful 2 simple words can be – I Do.

It was also a living reminder of what is truly important.  I flew home late Friday and knew I was looking at a long car ride on Saturday to get to the wedding.  To say I was jet-lagged was an understatement.  I had a thousand reasons to not go and contemplated not attending.  As I looked at the piles of laundry and mail I felt defeated.  Where would I even begin to dig-out? 

Well after my 30 minutes of self-pity I packed my bag, put a smile on my face and got in the car.  The car ride was a bit tense and thank goodness I have a patient husband.  We arrived at our hotel.  It was beautiful.  My disposition started to shift and in one fell swoop I finally got my head around the basis of the event.  We had the honor in sharing in the celebration of love.  The fragile union of two souls witnessed by friends and family. 

I was teary-eyed as I watch to two young hearts profess their love and exchange vows.  I met new family members and felt such a warmth from the dinner and reception. 

It was a perfect night.  Their perfect night.  Mr. and Mrs. Adam Ahern. 

I was honored to be a part of their celebration and all of my concerns from earlier in the day simply faded in to the sunset. 

Dancing, laughing, smiling ~> it was the perfect medicine for my ailments.

If you have the opportunity to celebrate love – take it…no matter how large or how small – CELEBRATE.  In the end….it is the most important thing we have.

Leave a Reply

