There’s No Place Like Home.

Recently I have travelled to see my parents and returned to the home that I spent most of my childhood in. It was a welcome change to enter familiar surroundings. All the sites, sounds and smells I remember with a couple of upgrades of course. The first thing I noticed was that my room was clean. That was not the case when I lived there during high school. But the walls told stories of many athletic events, dances and late night conversations.
It was a delightful visit and I thoroughly enjoyed the conversations, activities and laughs we shared.
While I have a family of my own there is something comfortable about going to my parents home. I regress to some of my old habits and ways. For a fleeting moment I allow myself to be the child and then the thought is interrupted by the needs of one of my own kids. I am a mom, a daughter, a friend…a character.
I am grateful for the new memories we created and the opportunity to spend time with my parents.
Time – it is the one element we all have the same amount of. No matter what your height, weight or economic status may be – we all have the same amount of time. My challenge is gain a greater consciousness about how I am spending it. Am I making it count? Am I adding value to the lives of those around me?
These are great questions to ask……they help me find my center. Mom and dad – thank you for a fabulous visit. I will see you again soon.
With Laughter and Love, April

Leave a Reply

